Honey cinnamon hot chocolate

December 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

With the piles of gorgeous white snow and the single-digit temperatures outside, a person can’t help reaching for something warm to drink. And it is the Christmas season, to boot. What does that mean? Setting aside the more recent, grown-up trend towards Pumpkin Spice Lattes, everyone knows it’s time for hot chocolate.

And the good news? I have discovered the most delicious way to make it! To my chagrin, in the past few years I have almost never been able to finish my mug of this favorite beverage. I liked the idea of hot chocolate, but in actuality, not so much the taste – it was too sweet and too bland. I began opting for mochas instead.

Then, while Google searching as part of my (newish) quest to find ways to replace sugar with honey, I stumbled across a recipe that does just that with hot chocolate. Though the recipe I found was a bit too rich for me, I made my own changes and was perfectly pleased. I’ve found myself frequently making – and finishing! – this healthier, more flavorful version of hot chocolate.

 

Here’s how you make it:

Ingredients:
2 cups whole milk
3 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
2 Tablespoons honey (more or less, to taste)
cinnamon

Directions:
Heat the milk; do not let it reach a simmer. When steam rises from the pot, stir in the cocoa powder and honey. Add three dashes of cinnamon. Stir until the cocoa powder is completely dissolved into the milk. Pour and enjoy!

Variations:
You could add a teaspoon of vanilla for a slightly more complex flavor. Or drop in a cinnamon stick. You might also whip some heavy whipping cream (with or without sugar and vanilla added to it) and dollop that on top with a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Sip carefully! No one wants a scalded tongue!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Honey cinnamon hot chocolate at Kinds of Honey.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

