Where we live

May 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

It is late, and I ought to be sleeping. I am tired from a day of organizing ideas and information, checking out bee colonies, and working on flower beds. This is the good kind of tired, where you feel like, Yes. I got something important done today.

Still, I am not asleep. Sometimes the creative mind gets all ramped up at the end of the day and I hate to stifle it. Tonight I have been thinking about two things, in particular: (1) which color I would like to paint my room, and (2) what sort of small house I’d like to create, find, remodel to live in someday.

These ponderings took me all over the web. The dangerous, dastardly, extremely useful web. Before the internet mushroomed into our lives, I used to take an idea and start drawing. Writing. Diagramming. Coloring. Now I hop online and away we go! Is this better or worse? Sometimes the result is helpful. Other times I just get off course.

The good news is that this time, (1) I settled on a color and am super excited to get down to painting, and (2) I found some fascinating small house links, including Tumbleweed Tiny House Company. Could I live in one of these little spaces? I think so. I might want to try it. Though I’m slightly more enchanted with building a Shelter-Kit sort of custom-designed to be at once a home, a studio, a workshop, and a barn. Either that or go about remodeling something divinely old and full of interesting corners and cracks (and probably problems, but I don’t mind a challenge, especially if there’s good history attached to it).

As we’ve been putting together bee hives, creating living spaces for ducklings, and considering the housing for soon-to-come livestock, I’ve been thinking about the whole idea of home – space – what we live within and how we choose to make it. I have always liked home. I want to create serene, strong, happy places for myself and others to dwell in. Even the animals. And it occurs to me that a good farmer makes good homes. Conscientious farmers give their animals appropriate shelter, according to the various animals’ needs. (For beef cattle a shelter belt of trees might actually be the best thing for them, as opposed to a barn. We can talk about this in more detail another time, perhaps). This does not include CAFOs, though I have toured them and been told about their many hygienic qualities (pressing my lips tightly together to keep from getting snarky). It does include space, ventilation, strong roofing, comfortable places to lie or stand, and area that allows for instinctive behavior and even, yes, even comfort.

This human is comfortable now in her bed in the white house with her favorite new-old red stallion lamp and a quilt her sister gave to her. Another rant for another day.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where we live at Kinds of Honey.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

