Handmade Shop: Green Trunk Designs

May 30, 2012 § 2 Comments

Is it just me, or are we having a revival of the creative? I feel like I’ve been noticing a general pulling away from what is mass-produced in favor of what has been made by hand. We are, many of us, being drawn towards things that are authentic, repurposed, inventive, and unique. This is happening in our own lives in DIY ways, and it’s showing up in a great flush of independent, locally-made, handicraft kinds of businesses.

I love this. I have always loved the idea of cottage industries and often fancied I’d have one. (I still fancy this, actually, along with the cottage itself.) I remember learning about the Industrial Revolution with dismay, though this may have been related to simultaneously reading a good deal of Charles Dickens. The disappearance of cottage industries with the rise of factories and migration to cities did not seem especially progressive to me, when my aesthetic tendencies would have me prefer thatched houses to dank, crowded alleys and smoggy skylines.

I suppose factories may have their place, and some have been intentional about incorporating pleasant and safe conditions within their operations. But I still prefer items that have been handmade. Something a human touched and created with a vision in mind, with care and detail emphasized over speed. Something that grew out of someone’s desire to make something beautiful and useful.

So! I’d like to share with you one small business I have discovered thanks to Etsy. These hats by Green Trunk Designs are made from recycled materials and have a distinctly vintage flair. Owner Jaya Lee crafts each hat or fascinator from her home in Brewster, New York; she finds “great joy in giving unwanted materials a new life and purpose.” Have a look at some of these unique, pretty creations. Photos courtesy of Green Trunk Designs.

Vintage 1920s Lace Cap


Rustic Rose Woodland Hair Comb

Felt Pillbox Hat

Patchwork Fascinator Hat

Woodland Cloche Hat

What do you think? Aren’t they charming? If I were to choose one of these, I think it would be the vintage 1920s lace cap. Which one do you like best?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Handmade Shop: Green Trunk Designs

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Handmade Shop: Green Trunk Designs at Kinds of Honey.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

