A garden for my friends

June 13, 2011 § Leave a comment

I am helping some friends put in a garden. They have a few acres north of where I live and the more I have chattered about on the farm this-or-that, the more they seemed to think about putting in a nice garden on their land. And so they generously let me be a part of it.

We got a bit of a late start. But that’s okay.

Mostly, I helped plan the layout of the garden and plant the starts and seeds. Several lettuces, carrots, radishes, onions, kale, peas, peppers, tomatoes. Rosemary, oregano, thyme, and of course cilantro. Squash. Corn. Cucumbers. Strawberries!

My friends are watering and monitoring. Though this weekend I might go up to do some weeding and perhaps to tuck more compost around some of the plants.

They also have big dogs. And a fence to keep the dogs out, fortunately.

Peas are so photogenic.

And the rows are just satisfying to look at. I don’t know why.

It is going to be fun to see how this garden grows. And to share its produce. Thanks, friends!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A garden for my friends at Kinds of Honey.

meta

