Cherry Half-Pound Cake

June 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

Cherries are ripe in Colorado!

I felt so pleased to take home my first basketful from last night’s farmer’s market. Then woke up this morning to realize: no eggs! I am perpetually running out of eggs and butter. It will be good to have chickens and a cow one day.

So I went out to get eggs and found a recipe for pound cake and tied on my apron.

With the door open, in came the breeze and the rain. After two fires in the mountains yesterday these are so welcome. Even the sound of the cars driving by, with the water rushing from their wet tires, is calmer.

So when everything was done I sat to have a little cake and coffee. The rain stopped and the birds chirped from fences and branches.

Do you know what’s fun? This is how I’ve been amusing myself lately: looking online at farms for sale and imagining what I might do in that place. I have hardly any idea where I will end up . . . but a lot of ideas about what I will make there!

Nice summer afternoons, we will have picnics and tea parties on the farm. With cherries and cake, to be sure.

RECIPE (adjusted from Savoring the Seasons of the Northern Heartland, “Lucia’s Half-Pound Cake”)

Ingredients:

1/2 to 1 pint sweet dark cherries

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

3/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

2 sticks butter

1 tsp. pure vanilla

5 tablespoons sugar

4 eggs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 35o˚F. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, cream butter, vanilla, and sugar. Beat the eggs, then add to the butter mixture. Gently fold in dry ingredients. Note that the batter will be rather thick. Pour batter into a round pan (11″ diameter is what I used) and smooth it out with a spoon or rubber scraper. Press in cherries as you like. Bake for approximately 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool and serve!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cherry Half-Pound Cake at Kinds of Honey.

meta

