Collard fritatta and a clafoutis calamity

July 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

For some reason I wanted to bake with eggs today.

I got up early and had a quick breakfast and cleaned and ran errands. Poor Miss T. has been limping for the past few days so she is not getting the walks and outside playtime that she likes to have. She keeps standing at the door and looking at me.

You need to rest, honey. If only she understood. At least I could take her in the car with me as we went about town. Sometimes it’s nice to just get out.

We went to pick up my milk share and get some eggs. I have not settled on a source for local eggs yet; the ones on the farm where I work are spoken for. I’m happy to know, though, that I can get good brown eggs from Organic Valley at the grocery store. Those eggs are so pretty. I was smitten with brown eggs as a little girl and I am still. That color!

The collards from the farm had been sitting and I needed to do something with them. So easy to throw together garlic, onion tops, collards, eggs, milk, and cheese – with of course some salt and pepper – to make a fritatta. Nice for lunch today . . . and easy to put into containers to bring to work for the next week!

And then the clafoutis. Well.

I had never made it before and was eager to try this traditional Limousin French treat. Especially with the Rainier cherries I’d gotten at the market. Colorado cherries trucked over the mountains from Palisade. Such a cheery yellow.

I used a gluten-free baking mix in place of all-purpose flour, just because I think it’s good to mix up your grains. Guess what? (Silly me.) The baking mix has baking soda and baking powder in it. And guess what else? Those are not ingredients in clafoutis. It had been my understanding that this was simply a mix of various flours to use in place of wheat flour. Not quite. (Always read ingredient labels.)

So . . . my clafoutis bubbled up to rise rather than settling into a smoothly dense golden-brown custardy flan sort of thing.

Oh, dear.

Despite how it looks, it really wasn’t that bad. I’m happy to say it still tastes pretty good.

And when I get it right, next time, I’ll let you know! And post a recipe. For now . . . well, waste not, want not. At times we all have to eat, or look at, or revise our mistakes. In doing so, we might even find that they are not so terrible, after all.

—–

COLLARD FRITATTA RECIPE

Ingredients:

2 Tbs. olive oil

2 cloves garlic

10 collard green leaves

7-10 onion tops

3/4 cup whole milk

7 eggs

1/2 cup cheese, grated (I used Organic Valley Raw Mild Cheddar)

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Mince, crush, or press the garlic into the oil in a medium skillet, and being heating at medium heat. Remove the stems from the collard greens and cut into strips, then into halves. Slice the onion tops into 1/2 to 1 inch pieces. Toss collards and onion tops into skillet and sautée until collards have softened.

Beat the eggs with the milk. Add the cheese, salt, and pepper. Fold in the greens and bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Collard fritatta and a clafoutis calamity at Kinds of Honey.

meta

