Problem solving

August 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’m starting to think about what’s next after the farm season is over. It’s scary. I’ll figure it out has been my most-used phrase lately – lately being the last several years or so.

It seems like I always need more experience. And experience can be hard to get. But one of the things I feel like I can do, and ought to be doing, is look for ways to educate myself. I have to admit that I don’t read the way I used to, before college hit. Blogs and facebook keep me far too entertained these days. Whatever happened to books?

As I scroll through job possibilities and think about the things I want to do and the things I need to know better, I can’t help noticing the gaps in my education. Or, perhaps more accurately, the misdirection of some – not all – of my education. It’s troubling and yet not something that can’t be remedied in its way. It’s just up to me to fill in the blanks, since I didn’t realize a major in agroecology would have been a good partner to my major in English until too late. Fortunately, one thing college does for you is teach you how to learn. If you want to learn something, find the resources and get down and do it!

So. I’ve got a copy of Rodale’s Ultimate Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening (which is very long and chock full of information) and a copy of Rodale’s Vegetable Garden Problem Solver (which is acceptably thick, but not overwhelmingly). The goal I’m setting for my not-fully-educated, not-reading-enough self is to read this second book cover to cover, and to have it completed by the end of September. In addition to paging through the Ultimate Encyclopedia a little each day. I suspect I’ll share excerpts and discoveries along the way, so for those of you blog-oriented readers like me with even a small interest in gardening, you might consider this your SparkNotes!

Also. If you haven’t heard of The Rodale Institute, you might want to check them out. They are responsible for lots of research, information-sharing, publications, and general forward-movement of all things organic and sustainable. They also have festivals – the next is an Organic Apple Festival on September 17, complete with apple picking, farm tours, and apple cider floats. Don’t I wish I could go! You know how I love a good farm event. Muy bien!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Problem solving at Kinds of Honey.

meta

