Salt and sugar

October 11, 2011 § 1 Comment

The perfect crust still eludes me. I’ve succeeded perhaps once or twice. This time? I grabbed the 1/2 tablespoon measure instead of the 1/2 teaspoon measure (in my defense, the only marking left on the spoon is “1/2”) and subsequently ended up dumping in too much salt. A peach galette with a salty, rather than sweet, crust. It doesn’t taste too badly if you break off some of the more crusty bits. And the smell of hot peaches is still perfect and lingering in the air.

On a better note, I have been the lucky recipient of good and unexpected gifts lately. Kind words have been spoken to and over me, in places here and there. A coworker handed me a peach ripe from the Palisades. A boss gave me a box of chocolate-covered macadamia nuts. And my roommate decorated our whole apartment with a variety of charming, adorable pumpkins. These acts of generosity, gentleness, and appreciation end up making me approach the world differently. I feel cared for. It’s natural that a full, warmed spirit will go on to offer warmth and kindness more easily to others. Or at least try.

A quiet, joyful self is something I have learned to treasure, and to aim to maintain for as long as I can. Tonight my roommate and I will have fried green tomatoes, sweet corn, and cherry pie for dinner. There is a bouquet of flowers from the market still looking pretty on the table. The aspens outside are going gold and the breeze is almost always cool these days. These are the things that are beautiful in my world, at the moment. What’s good in yours?

§ One Response to Salt and sugar

  • Liz says:

    Hooray and thanks for reminding us to remember the small kindnesses around us. Just learning to look for these things is wonderfully helpful to be gentle not only with others, but with yourself.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Salt and sugar at Kinds of Honey.

meta

