Snow Day!

October 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

The snow fell in heaps! Small flakes are still moving in an unassuming, steady drift down to the ground, where they gather one after another to make piles worthy of boots and snowplows. The red maples and yellow aspens wear white cloaks, now – what a contrast the colors make! And the ornamental apple tree a few feet from my patio looks positively festive, all red and silver and frosty, boughs bent in arches towards the ground. I keep spontaneously wanting to sing Christmas carols, but it is still far too early for that.

T. and I dashed about a bit in the snow, less than she would like, as I was lazy and cozy and not as productive as I ought to have been with all my free time (but it is my day off, isn’t it?). While we were out in the yard I looked over to see that the roads are clear, which is a good thing, as I am about to make my way to the horse barn to find out how my hoofed friends have been handling the day, and to warm them up with hay and grain. I think I will tote Miss T. along with me to hang out until we’re done getting everyone fed . . . and then we might go over to see what the lake looks like all snowed upon.

If I had my camera, I would show you. Instead I might have to resort to words. Funny to think how long I relied upon words only to convey an image, and how quickly it became natural to snap the shot instead. Maybe this is a good challenge, to leave the camera alone for awhile, to sharpen up the pen just a bit.

I hope you are all enjoying your Wednesdays, whether snow-deep or Indian summer warm or on the drizzly-and-dreary side. Have a spot of tea as the day winds down. And lift that steaming cup, mug, or jar to the world and its weather.

(Incidentally: for those of you who, like me, think it’s great to drink out of Mason jars, you’ve got to check this out: one of my favorite blogs is Cold Antler Farm, and Jenna, the author/farmer, is hosting a pretty creative contest. I’m not convinced I’ve got the skills necessary to enter, but some of you might have!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Snow Day! at Kinds of Honey.

meta

