Something beautiful, indeed

November 5, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’m sitting at the table, making this a long morning, comfy in snowboots and a sweater. Dried flowers stand in a jar. My dog occasionally comes over to look at me with eyes pleading for a walk in the sunny outdoors. My hair is a mess, but I don’t feel like brushing it. I’ve got at least an hour’s worth of edits to make on this novel – dull but necessary changes to make before it can be published, before I can move on to the creative fun of another. As I work, options about the future, and the problems and promises of the present, keep floating in and out of my mind. And it is the perfect time for this song and its video. I don’t know what it is about needtobreathe, but their music tends to mend a little bit of my heart whenever I listen.

It seems like we humans want to have causes. Something to latch onto, to drive us forward, to give us purpose. One of those, for many of us, is to make and share and discover beauty. Here’s one of my routes to finding it:

§ One Response to Something beautiful, indeed

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Something beautiful, indeed at Kinds of Honey.

meta

