That’s what I call progress

December 30, 2011 § 2 Comments

The needles have been clickety-clacking. This is a calmly happy thing, a new discovering of ability and possibility. There is something soothing in the repetitive motion, something satisfying in having a finished product make its way out, inch by inch, from your fingers.

Our culture has long looked humorously, even scornfully, at the grandmothers sitting in their cottage corners to knit or crochet. With a braided rug, a fireplace, and a cat. Probably also some cozy slippers.

Well now. Maybe I am old-fashioned, but . . . other than the cat (give me a big dog, please) that sounds just perfectly gorgeously pleasant. Warm, cozy, quietly artistic. And who can deny how beautiful yarn is, tucked into a basket, twisted and tied with ribbon?

If comfort and beauty are the things for the old souls, I am happy to be among them. Even in these last few months of my twenties. Finding such things along the path towards greater self-sufficiency and away from debt – that means progress to me.

Thanks to family members and also to Borrowed Pastures for the beautiful 100% wool and wool/alpaca blend yarns!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to That’s what I call progress

  • i love this!! are you just learning to knit? what are you making? i have another knitting blog friend, idratherbeiniceland.wordpress.com. she’s completely self-taught, while I had my neighbor to help me along.

    • Erica says:

      I am just learning! I have sort of taught myself by poking around online – and my friend Renee also gave me a few tips when she was here visiting. I’m sticking to scarves for now, and trying to figure out different stitches that way, but I’d like to venture into trying wrist warmers and headbands. Your prayer shawl is impressive! Thanks for the knitting blog recommend – I will check it out!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading That’s what I call progress at Kinds of Honey.

meta

