Texture & textiles

December 31, 2011 § 1 Comment

I have been getting all caught up in Dear Genevieve, another room makeover show on HGTV that’s somehow more fun than the rest. Genevieve is so talented and rather enchanting in the way that she works with her clients and team, and I like getting drawn into the creative process of seeing what is and what can be. So I watch it while I am knitting or cooking. And I’m noticing that it affects the way I look at the world around me. Isn’t it fun how sharing perspectives and ideas can do that?

Walking the other day, I found myself noticing all different sorts of texture. Colorado is not, from my perspective, particularly colorful (despite the sign at the Nebraska/Colorado border which reads “Welcome to Colorful Colorado” – comically placed in the dry, tumbleweed, eastern plains part of the state). And this time of year, color is especially scarce. All seems shades of brown and gray, except for the blue sky and sometimes the white snow. So as we walk and I look for what is pleasing to the eye, I am drawn to nature’s textures.

I think – and Genevieve confirms! – that in designing a room texture is key – especially in rooms that use color sparingly. A white room needn’t feel sterile with the right textiles and woods to warm it and soften it. A room that involves lots of browns or dark colors can avoid being heavy or dull with the right surfaces to reflect light and maintain interest.

I love design that is nature-inspired, culture-inspired, and especially that involves reclaimed objects. I love walking through nature thinking about what I could make to reflect it. I love looking at how other people have expressed the landscapes they live in or travel through.

Here are a few of my favorite Etsy shops:

Design by Mar

Gardenmis

Cottage Farm

My Petite Maison

And I’ve just gotten started on Pinterest! Here’s where you can find me:

Ericajoyful’s Pinterest

What kind of design do you like? Does nature inspire you, or do you find inspiration somewhere else? How do you decorate your homes – or dream of decorating them?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Texture & textiles

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Texture & textiles at Kinds of Honey.

meta

