Morels

May 14, 2012 § 2 Comments

My kind employers brought me a plateful of morels that they discovered early last week.

I dredged them in flour and fried them in butter, with a little salt and pepper.Yum.

And then, do you know what? When I was out looking for ramps, I stumbled upon a patch of morels myself.

My first experience with mushroom foraging, and it was accidental. I know many others who go to the point of making a ritual out of it. I prepped and served a gorgeous pile of chanterelles that our chef at Meadow Lark found in the Colorado mountains. But I never managed to go mushrooming myself. Now suddenly I understood what all the fuss was about.

That discovery moment is one of those where you feel like jumping around. “Look what I found!” I maybe bounced a little with glee. Maybe. I definitely smiled to myself, and did that funny thing where you look around you even though you know that no one is there. It feels like somehow, the universe is sharing this moment with you, observing your discovery, and receiving your appreciation.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Morels

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Morels at Kinds of Honey.

meta

