Castles in the air

July 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

“There is a castle on a cloud,
I like to go there in my sleep,
Aren’t any floors for me to sweep,
Not in my castle on a cloud.

There is a room that’s full of toys,
There are a hundred boys and girls,
Nobody shouts or talks too loud,
Not in my castle on a cloud.”
-Little Cosette, Les Miserables

Do any of you ever imagine yourself in a different space or time, in a castle on a cloud, as the mistreated little Cosette does? Or build “castles in the air,” as Jo March and her sisters do in Little Women? I do – you see them here from time to time, in my perpetual dropping of that handy little word, “someday.”

Someday I will have two dapple gray Percherons with white manes in a red barn with a Christmas wreath on it. Someday I will tie my small sailboat to the end of my sister’s dock, because she will live just down the road on the lake. I will visit her lake house with my kids and she will visit my farmhouse with hers. Someday I will have copper pots hanging from the beams, and a big fireplace, and a claw-foot tub, and a very long table to seat my very best loved ones.

I am curious to know: What do you have in your castle? What are your somedays?

As much as I love to play this game, I think sometimes it makes me forget about the good real earth, the solid ground I’m standing on and how I can build castles right here. Many somedays just require my taking the time to make them come about. So. Dreamers, dream. And then, if you can, draw your castles, and your plans, adjust as you must, and start to build them from wherever you are.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Castles in the air at Kinds of Honey.

meta

